Acting / Ramblings

Was My Nudity Immoral?

“[Morals are] a code of values to guide man’s choices and actions—the choices and actions that determine the purpose and the course of his life.” – Ayn Rand

I want to talk about morality, and what it means to behave either morally or immorally.

I recently appeared nude on stage, something that I didn’t think I would ever do. It was not a decision that was made without much thought and I certainly would not have done it for any story or with any cast. I made the decision to do it after reading and falling in love with the story and the troubled/angry character of Carol. I said yes because I rightfully believed that I would be in the company of a dedicated and respectful team of actors. I said yes because I believe that I was put on this earth to tell stories and to foster empathy with my art. The nudity was not sexual, but was intended to reflect the vulnerable nature of the scene.

I value bravery, vulnerability persistence, silliness, imagination and love, and it seems to me that my nudity is a reflection of every one of these values. I feel that by giving my body to my art I was behaving as morally as I know how to act. I believe that the greatest thing a person can do in this life, is to follow their dreams.

In the words of Brené Brown “we are the most in-debt, obese, addicted, and medicated cohort in US history.” She ascribes this to the numbing of emotion and numbing vulnerability. I personally believe that it has more to do with a fear of following our dreams (which of course is all related). It all comes back to a fear of realizing our true potentials. I am faced with this fear every day as I resist using my full voice. I am afraid to be heard.  I go to voice class and I find myself shrinking away from saying the word “fuck” because of a fear of making an impact. Why do I go to voice class to begin with? Because I grew up thinking that the best way to live was to forever act like a little girl so as to escape blame and responsibility. But I want to be responsible for my life!

There are far too many unhappy people in this world stuck in jobs that they dislike if not hate. Why? Because I think we have all been taught to value material things, mediocrity and fear. Your code of values shouldn’t be designed to push you down, but to pull you up.

The most moral thing you can do in this life is to live up to your potential, follow your dreams and be heard. I’ll reiterate what I said at the beginning: appearing nude on stage was the most in-line with my morals that I have ever been.

**As a side note, this is the most scared I have ever been to publish a piece of my writing.

8 thoughts on “Was My Nudity Immoral?

  1. Christine, I think you’re very brave for having the courage to be nude for art and doing what you felt the character and scene required of you. Art is about being vulnerable and exposing something raw and naked to the world. It should reach us on a visceral level. And I think if you would have chosen not to be nude for fear of public opinion, not following what you think would be the best choice for the play and the character, then it would almost be doing it a disservice. Plus, we live in a society where we’re taught to have so much shame about our bodies. I’m not sure if I would ever be able to be on a stage naked. I agree that the only thing immoral is not being true to yourself,

  2. Find out! Put it to the test. Walk around in public nude. I think you’ll find out VERY quickly that the legal answer to that question is: “Yes”.

  3. I know you already know this…but I absolutely ADORE reading your posts! 🙂 Thank you for always being an inspiration to me.

Leave a comment